What? A new winery in Mississippi?

I have visited wineries from Tuscany, Italy to Pasa Robles, Calif., and I knew of the Old South Winery in Natchez, but I have never seen or heard of a winery in Winston County, Mississippi. I had to learn more about this.

Gerald Mills, Executive Director of the Winston County Economic Development Partnership, told me that a Winston County native of some winemaking fame had returned to Louisville, Mississippi after living out of state for much of his adult life. His name was James Davis, and his company was called Red Hills Winery. The detective in me went to work. I discovered the winery’s Facebook page, and from there learned where I could purchase a bottle of wine in another town. A few days later I had a bottle of Davis Cuvee‘ from Red Hills Winery. The label read as follows:

“Our Davis Cuvee’ is a special blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Muscadine. It is a medium-bodied wine that exhibits blackberry and red cherry fruit, and is floral with a hint of earthiness. It exhibits jammy black fruit flavors with a little spice. Aged in used French Oak barrels. 13.5% alcohol. 200 cases produced.”

My taste testing began. At this point I should disclose that I am no wine expert. However, I do have a glass of wine more often than not with dinner meals, and am just someone who is mildly fascinated with the industry from a business and product standpoint. My review is simple: it was rather good and had a noticeable muscadine finish. Indeed, it was good enough for me to buy another bottle. The winery also has a white wine blend.

I contacted Davis and learned … read more in Phil Hardwick’s Mississippi Business Journal column.

Leave a Reply

