Restaurant Review, Rusty’s Riverfront Grill, Vicksburg, Mississippi

I had a meeting in Vicksburg this past Friday, and someone suggested Rusty’s for lunch.  “But we had better get there by eleven-thirty if we want a seat.  It’s a popular place.”  I discovered the reason that it’s such a popular place, so I decided to share my experience in case you find yourself in Vicksburg and in need of a good restaurant.

I arrived at 11:30 a.m. and was informed that there was a 25-minute wait unless I wanted to eat at the bar.  That was not a problem as there were only two of us.  The menu was replete with seafood choices in a variety of salads, sandwiches and entrees. I ordered the house salad with crab cakes.  Having lived in the Chesapeake Region at one time, I know good crab cakes, something not found on very many menus in Mississippi.  It turned out to a good choice and I recommend it.  Price, with iced tea and tax, came to around $16.00.  My associate had the house salad topped with fried grouper.  Also recommended.  Many of the reviews found on the Internet recommend the fried green tomatoes with lump crab meat.  Behind the bar appeared to be a decent wine and adult beverage selection.  Most of the crowd appeared to be local business people and a smattering of tourists.  The decor is casual, being one big room in a new brick building.  I was informed that Rusty’s had moved there from another downtown location. I would describe the restaurant as upscale casual and have no hesitation recommending it.  I plan to return soon for an evening dining experience.

Officially, the name of the restaurant is Rusty’s Riverfront Grill, and it’s located at 901 Washington Street.  Take the Clay Street (downtown) exit from I-20 and then right on Washington.  It’s about four short blocks on the right.

Rusty’s Riverfront Grill
901 Washington St
Vicksburg, MS 39183
(601) 638-2030

Leave a Reply

