Restaurant Review: Giardina’s, Greenwood, Mississippi

When I told a colleague that I would be having dinner at Giardina’s at The Alluvian in Greenwood the response was, “Phil, I know you’re a seafood person, but the best filet I’ve ever had was at Giardiana’s. Better than (names of famous steakhouses).” I took the bait (pun intended) and had the filet. It was as described, so I have no hesitation in recommending it. Three others in our group had filets and two had seafood. All said the food was among the best ever put in their mouths. My hat is off to our server, who knew the wine list by heart, but was not shy about making recommendations after I described what I looking for to go with that filet. All-in-all, it was a superb dining experience in a rather unique setting. Did I mention the private booths, each with a curtain-draped doorway?

Our pre-dinner reception in the lobby of The Alluvian was something more like an after-work setting in a Memphis or New York hotel. At 5:30 p.m. the locals began arriving and mixed hospitably with the hotel guests. The “Billy Joel” sound of Danny Abraham on the piano and a bartender who wasn’t challenged by any drink request makes this venue one not to miss when in the Mississippi Delta.

Highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

