My new job: Backyard Weather Observer

A few weeks ago I responded to the call from the Community Collaborative Rain, Snow and Hail Network (CoCoRaHS) and became measurer of precipitation.  I purchased a special rain gauge, installed it in my backyard and now send a report to every morning to CoCoRaHS.  In case you’re wondering, yesterday’s front that came through Jackson, Mississippi deposited .48 inches of rain in my backyard between 7:00 a.m. and late morning when the sun came out.  I reported this online and it is now posted on my little weather station spot on a national map. If you go to the map today, March 26, 2010, I’m that .48 speck in northeast Hinds County.

This is a useful and interesting activity, especially for those remotely interested in the subject of weather.  It is also important because precipitation can vary greatly from neighborhood to neighborhood. CoCoRaHS is an acronym for the Community Collaborative Rain, Hail and Snow Network.  CoCoRaHS is a unique, non-profit, community-based network of volunteers of all ages and backgrounds working together to measure and map precipitation (rain, hail and snow).   By using low-cost measurement tools, stressing training and education, and utilizing an interactive Web-site, its aim is to provide the highest quality data for natural resource, education and research applications.

If you are interested in becoming a precipitation measurer like me just click here to check out the FAQ section of the CoCoRaHS Web site.  It’s easy to join online.  There is even local contact information if needed.  Best of all, you will be doing something important that will not take much of your time.

One response to “My new job: Backyard Weather Observer

  1. Phil, Isn’t checking the weather fun??!! I am a weather watcher, too – partly because I am a gardener and want to know how much rain we have had. When I was in elementary school and lived in Rolling Fork (my father was the county agent) we had a weather station in our back yard and Daddy called in all the data to the Jackson NWS every morning. I guess it just got in my blood!
    On March 26th, I had only .05″ – but on the 25th I had .60″. I support this project because long term data will be useful – maybe after we are gone they can say – oh, it was global warming…or whatever it turns out to be!!
    Hope you and Carol have a blessed Easter day.
    Cheryl Welch

Leave a Reply

