Messaging, marketing, communication and stories start off my day.

When I awoke this morning I sensed that it was earlier than usual.  Perhaps it was because it was so dark.  You know, that “darkest before dawn” thing.  I reached over to the nightstand and mashed the button on my iPhone to check the time.   It shined 4:59 back at me.  There was also a “Breaking News” item displayed.  It reported that two Iranian warships had entered the Suez Canal.  Hmm.  I had been thinking about that story – and how it has been reported – for the past two days.  I couldn’t go back to sleep.  I usually get up at 6:00 a.m.  I decided to go ahead and get up.  It was only an hour before my usual wakeup time, and I had slept well during the night probably because I had played tennis the evening before.

I started the coffee brewing, retrieved the Wall Street Journal from the driveway and dug into the news, for I am nothing else if not a news junkie.  The story that caught my attention was about Wal-Mart and how “…executives veered away from the winning formula of late founder Sam Walton to provide ‘every day low prices’ to the American working class.”  I was also intrigued by an article about how some attorneys are using Facebook and other social media as part of their jury selection process.

Next, I checked my e-mail and discovered that there was an update for my Kindle e-reader.  I clicked on the “Learn more” hyperlink and did just that.  While on the Amazon.com Web site I somehow discovered a book by Seth Godin entitled “All Marketers Are Liars.” I then learned that one of the updated features of the Kindle is that Kindle readers can now see what other readers have highlighted.  Wow, how cool!  But wait.  Amazon now knows what I highlight in my Kindle?  Hmm.  Anyway, I like Seth Godin’s marketing and messaging blog so I checked out the book.  The book’s message is basically this (from product description):

Seth Godin’s three essential questions for every marketer:
“What’s you story?”
“Will the people who need to hear this story believe it?”
“Is it true?”

All marketers tell stories. And if they do it right, we believe them. We believe that wine tastes better in a $20 glass than a $1 glass. We believe that an $80,000 Porsche is vastly superior to a $36,000 Volkswagen that’s virtually the same car. We believe that $125 sneakers make our feet feel better–and look cooler–than a $25 brand. And believing it makes it true.

Hmm.  Good stuff – for I believe that message.  If you have heard me speak or write about marketing communities, you know that I stress that the community must tell its story.  I think I’ll buy the book.  I click on the book’s image and discover that the Kindle edition is $18.99 (set by the publisher), the hardcover Amazon price is $9.58 and the lowest used price is $4.56.  Do I even need to tell you which one I purchased?

By now it is 6:00 a.m.  I have learned that news gets twisted – compare the Fox News story, the BusinessWeek story and the BBC story about the Iranian warships entering the Suez Canal.  I also learned that I could view this story based on what I “believe” (see Seth Godin book), and get really scared or say “Ho-hum.”  I also now wonder if what I highlight in my Kindle e-book may somehow be used in court against me some day.  BREAKING NEWS.  And now I see that Wal-Mart 4th quarter earnings are up 27 percent.

I think I’ll just go back to bed.  Too much messaging already.  (Just kidding, boss.  I’ll be in the office at 8:00 a.m.)

Leave a Reply

