The “Boys of Spring” are back.

So who are the Boys of Spring, you ask? No, they are not baseball players. “Boys of Spring” is a nickname coined in the 1980s for a group of young staffers who, along with Gov. William Winter, Jack Reed Sr. and Rep. Robert Clark, took a stand for improved public education in Mississippi. They will be honored on the evening of April 26, 2011 at the Mississippi Association of Partners in Education annual Winter-Reed Award dinner.

The “Boys of Spring” to be honored on April 26 are Andy Mullins, Dick Molpus, John Henegan and David Crews. Though they were members of the original group, former Gov. Ray Mabus‘ current role as Secretary of the Navy prevents his participation in the award program, and Bill Gartin cannot participate due to a conflict.

When Mississippi was the only state in the nation that did not offer public kindergarten, this is the team that engineered the now historical Education Reform Act of 1982, also known as “The Christmas Miracle of 1982.” It is still considered the most significant educational legislation enacted in Mississippi since the establishment of the public school system. Today, these individuals continue in various ways to promote and enhance Mississippi.

Proceeds from the event will be used to enhance the program services of MAPE, including scholarships for member school districts to send representatives to training events.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s