My newspaper with ads has become an adpaper with news.

It used to be that the advertising department at newspapers supported the news department.  It seems that nowadays it has become the other ways around, at least that seems to be the case with my own local newspaper, The Clarion-Ledger.

I base this observation on what has become a major annoyance for me, and what may be the last straw in my continuing home delivery of that newspaper.  That annoyance is the new practice of wrapping an advertising section around the back of the newspaper and part of the front page.  Lately, on some days when I pick up my Clarion-Ledger and look at the front page I see only part of that page because the left one-half or so is covered by advertising.  I suppose that the way to avoid having advertising on the front page is to have a new half of a front page.

OK, friends at the Clarion-Ledger (and other daily newspapers), I get it.  I know that you have to make a profit to stay in business.  I know that Gannett’s profit dropped 1.6 percent in the third quarter of 2011, and that it is due to”… persistent declines in print advertising and circulation.”  I also understand that daily newspapers everywhere are facing challenges brought on by technology and that the current economy is not helping any.  I’ve read the articles.  I’m a news junkie.  I want you to succeed.  I know that the future of newspapers is uncertain.  I’m on your side.  I just want you to understand my feelings on this issue (pun intended).  Wrapping an advertising section around the back page and part of the front page really irks me.

There.  Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest I’m going to read the Sports section.  At least I don’t have to peel something off of it this morning.

Leave a Reply

